Sims Stories Monthly

What are your Sims up to today?

The Sims 4 7 Toddler Challenge

Yesterday,  The Sims had a Twitch live stream of the 7 Toddler Challenge. It was hilarious to watch, but also angst-inducing because my mouse hand kept itching to jump in there and do things. I was practically yelling at the screen, “No, do this!” or “Quick, that kid needs food!” Argh! My blood pressure! 😀

Finally, I realized what I really should to be doing was playing my own challenge and see if I did any better. So I did!

Meet the Keyes Household, headed up by young adult Charlotte Keyes, an Outgoing, Family-Oriented Foodie. Each of the seven kids was named alphabetically: Alec, Bianca, Christopher, Dandylion, Elaina, Frederick, and Glen. (They’re pictured below in order).

The Keyes Household for the 7 Toddler Challenge

I chose to do an “orphanage” type household rather than have them all be siblings, so I used the randomize tool in CAS to create their looks, didn’t touch the clothing they received randomly, and got a great group of unique individuals I think. If you’d like to download this household for your own challenge, I’ve shared it to the gallery.

Per the 7 Toddler Challenge rules, each toddler was given a trait not shared by another toddler. I randomly assigned these as I was creating the toddlers. Alec – Angelic, Bianca – Wild, Christopher – Clingy, Dandylion – Independent, Elaina – Fussy, Frederick – Inquisitive, and Glen – Silly.

The house I used, I downloaded from the gallery so it would be already set up for the challenge: 7 Toddler Challenge house by GilmoreGirl172.

The Sims 4 7 Toddler Challenge - Moving In Day

*Welcome to your new home, kids!*

What I didn’t do according to the rules was put my settings on no free will. Where’s the fun in that? I wanted CHAOS! Kids running around doing their own thing regardless of what I wanted them to do. I pretty much got that.

I suspect the no free will rule is so the kids won’t attempt to take care of themselves, which in theory should make it harder, but even with free will on, these kids barely did anything to help themselves. Seriously. I still had to direct them to eat, sleep, ask for baths, etc. because they would rather play with the doll house, cry, or have a temper tantrum. 😀 Maybe I’ll try it again with free will off and see if there’s much of a difference. I know with the Asylym Challenge, free will does make it too easy.

Anyway… I found the toddler challenge both fun and frustrating–the most frustrating part wasn’t from the challenge itself, I don’t think, but from my Sim adult who  would continually drop actions after I told her to go do something (like give one of the kids a bath). The Read to Sleep command seemed to fail just as often. Sometimes with results like this:

Sims 4 7 Toddler Challenge Bedtime fun

*Read to Sleep glitch makes for a wacky double-jointed Sim*

So, much like the live stream that gave me agita watching the disasters unfold, I ended up with a string of bright red (angry!) and bright blue (super sad!) toddler icons across the bottom of the screen. It seemed never ending. These kids were perpetually sad or angry the entire time. And because of the bath actions that kept canceling for whatever reason, they were pretty dirty all the time, too, but they never got taken away, so that’s a win! 😀

My adult Sim dragged herself around with an orange or red plumbob most of the time, too, out of sheer exhaustion, even with a Nanny’s help. (It seemed that Nanny would always leave for the day at the worst possible moment!)

The nice thing about the Nanny, though, was he became like a member of the family and pretty much best friends with all the kids, moreso than my adult caretaker Sim even. She spent most of her time cooking meals (to avoid the high chair hassles) and ended up level 10 cooking by the end of the 7 days.

The butlers I hired were absolutely useless for childcare. The first one I fired because she barely cleaned, never mind paid any attention to the kids, but the second one was just as bad when it came to the kids, but at least he cleaned.

Anyway, the good news is they made it to their birthdays and all aged up. Whew! And now my Sim can breathe a sigh of relief. They can at least feed themselves better now and stay clean.

The Sims 4 7 Toddler Challenge Birthdays Are Here

*Birthdays are finally here!*

After they aged up, the household was a little less chaotic, but still quite busy.

The Sims 4 7 Toddler Challenge All Grown Up Now

*The 7 toddlers are all grown up now*

I’ve kept playing since the birthday party. I randomized all their aspirations and traits as they aged up using some D&D dice, and am debating if I want to try to grow responsible young adults out of this crop of Sims. I’ve kind of grown to like this wacky group of kids.

It’ll be a lot of work for my adult caretaker to raise them up, but I’m thinking she might be up for the challenge. Plus, Mr. Man-Bun Nanny is pretty much her best friend, so I think he’ll continue to help out. The kids all love him. If there was room, I’d have him move in, but alas, 8 is a full house.

Sims 4 7 Toddler Challenge Bed Upgrades

*Toddlers are gone…Time for bed upgrades*

My conclusion: The 7 Toddler Challenge is a fun, sometimes frustrating, challenge, but the nice thing is it only last 7 Sim days so it can be done in a few hours. By the end I was really looking forward to those birthdays! My mouse arm is sore now, but I’m glad I did it. 😀

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2017 by in 7 Toddler Challenge, General and tagged , , .

Navigation

